top of page
  • Writer's pictureBorasaek Vision

ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are


There are many versions of the ARMY story. To some, ARMYs are the strongest and most coordinated fandom in the world who try to ensure that their words, actions, and behaviors emulate the values of BTS. For others, ARMYs are chaotic, manipulative, and disgruntled fans. Caring or chaotic — there will always be many sides to ARMY. This is a given because the ARMY fandom is a global community of all ages, from multiple countries, races, and cultures. There is no ‘one’ way to be an ARMY, nor is there a ‘right’ way, and whether someone is an ARMY for a day or a lifetime, the choice is always theirs, and the story of how they became ARMY is theirs as well. Fortunately, more ARMYs are now sharing their stories of how they became a fan of BTS. Many times, these stories are raw and relatable and most times (if not all), these precious stories include the words “you find BTS when you need them most.” Here at Borasaek Vision you will find a bunch of ARMYs virtually hanging out together, sharing lived experiences, favorite recipes, photos of our beloved pets, and even hugs when needed. We are a mini-version of the diversity that exists within the ARMY fandom with our voluntary staff of over thirty people who hail from four different continents. We celebrate our differences as much as we celebrate our similarities. We too have our ARMY stories, some of which have already been shared here in this “ARMYs Tell Us Who Areseries and other BTS-inspired blogs; you will also find our words nestled within these ARMY publications: The R3 Journal, Dream Glow Magazine, and Revolutionaries.


So we would like to echo RM’s words by encouraging all ARMYs, “No matter who you are, where you’re from, your skin color, your gender identity: just speak yourself.” Borasaek Vision believes there is a space and place for all of us to share our own stories, to speak our own truths; we hope you have the opportunity to share yours in the future, just like our generous ARMYs in this month’s blog.


Our opening ARMY story has been shared by Swetha, an ARMY from India.

I found BTS during the release of MOTS:7. By that time I was doing my UG final year internship. Though I took up engineering by my choice, I didn't really like it. I was lost without a goal in life. I really hated the idea that 10 years down the line, engineering was going to be my profession, but didn't have any other things that I wanted to be. I was really anxious thinking that I'm gonna rot away in that 9-5 job and not really have something to do that I love. I then found “So Far Away” by Suga (aka AgustD :P ), and then I don't know what happened, I went like, “Okay, let's start over.” Though I'm still an engineer, I have a bit of a plan for other career options I'd like and am working on switching to it.

Our closing story comes from one of our ARMYs from the Philippines.

It all started with how my older sister is an ARMY who just showed me stuff, so I already knew them all, like their names, both stage and real names, and of course some of their songs, including some of the BU stuff. I remember this specific thing she showed me though; it was one of BTS’ comeback stage performances for “Spring Day.” I gotta admit, Jungkook wearing pink in that performance caught my eye, and my sister telling me about some of the lyrics and the message of “Spring Day” made me more interested in them. After a few months of being in the denial stage, I became an ARMY.


I like to say May 7, 2017, was the day I became an ARMY. This day is also known for Filipino ARMYs as the last concert of BTS so far in the Philippines. Seeing them everywhere in the SM MOA area, and correcting my mom about who was who to her, while looking for my older sister to pick her up from the by then finished concert made me realize I actually do really like them. From then on, I just listened to a lot of their songs on Spotify, and I think without realizing at the time - streaming. Anyways, that’s my story. Thank you for reading it!


ENDING MENT

Going by the ARMY stories we have shared here this month, becoming ARMY is for many something that takes place over a period of time. It is a journey that often begins the moment we’re introduced to the seven BTS members, or the lyrics of their songs, or MVs. Eventually, it leads us to the moment where we’re streaming their music on Spotify, laughing and cheering the members on in “Run BTS!” or reassessing the value and direction of our own lives because of a BTS song, a member’s heartfelt words, or the layers of messages captured within their lyrics.


This month’s blog is #7 in our series – a great moment to pause and thank all of our past contributors. To this month’s ARMYs, thank you for taking the time to share your stories. Two months ago, you responded to our call, eager to share your stories with us. Today, Borasaek Vision is happy to be able to share your words, your stories with our readers. For any of our readers who may be interested in sharing their own ARMY stories with us, we have an ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are form that you can complete. September will see us release our next ARMY stories blog, so we would love to hear from you.

 

DISCLAIMER: We do not own any audio & visual content in this video except for the editing. ALL RIGHTS BELONG TO THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS. No copyright infringement intended.


Written By: Shelley

Edit By: Vera

Checked By: Esma

79 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page