top of page
  • Writer's pictureBorasaek Vision

ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are

ARMYs are known to be one of the most amazing and fierce fandoms to ever exist in this world. We are often dehumanized to the point that we have been called names such as bots, fanatics, obsessed, as well as crazy.


When BTS released “Permission to Dance,” the message that we do not need anyone’s permission to be happy, resonated with a lot of us on different levels. Borasaek Vision, too, has tried to uphold this message and curate a space where ARMYs can dance along to the rhythm of their own lives and help you remember why you started this journey in the first place.

The first story for this month is by Avipsha Ghosh, from India.


“Why are you an Army?


Back in college, I watched the music video of Blood Sweat & Tears. I remember being overwhelmed, and thinking, these people are amazing, but a little bit too perfect for me. I remember being furious at the unpleasantness of some people towards ARMY, and me, yelling on social media about the discrimination and close-mindedness of some people, but I still wasn't entirely aware.


Little did I know that I will be so gripped by the same video because of the themes it explores, to which I could relate as a young person, searching for her own identity. My journey as an ARMY properly started in 2020 with Spring Day and discovering the story (or rather stories) behind it. Getting to know each member, individually, restored my faith in artists with influence to take the responsibility to learn and unlearn social realities. And this came at a pretty turbulent time for politics in my country when I was feeling disillusioned with celebrity culture as a whole.


But beyond all of this, the most honest answer to why I call myself an ARMY is because they help me cope. When during the final years of University, my mental health worsened, their music, especially songs like “Epiphany” and “First Love,” helped. In the COVID era, when concerns about employment and finances were burdening us, waiting for Dalbang every Tuesday made getting through it all a bit better. Being a queer person, trying to fit in, being a student, a woman, and now, new in a professional environment, trying to survive, it might sound strange, but BTS - their music and what they stand for, helps.”

Credits: Hybe

Now Jae, again from India, has another interesting story for us. “I first found out about bangtan when I was in 11th grade, through "boy in luv". It was super catchy and so I kept up with their music. When they released "Save me," I decided they're artists worth being dedicated to. But I believe the time I became an army was when the "Wings" album was released, it was something very personal for me. The album included solo songs of each of the members. When I was at a very low point in my life, feeling alone and vulnerable, listening to "Begin" by JK made me burst out with tears. Their music gave me the strength to move forward. Seeing them for over 7 years, I've observed the positivity which has developed in their music, especially in the "Love Yourself" album series. I love them for who they are and they have helped me in my journey to learn to love myself for who I am as well.”

Credits: Save Me Music Video

Last, but not least, Avipsha Mitra, also from India, has shared her story with us. “So, the first video I saw of BTS was “Blood, Sweat and Tears” back in early 2019. I remember a friend showing me the video, and my opinion was like "yeah they are great dancers". Current me is like, did I just reduce that amazing mv into just "good dancers"?


Skip to September 2020, we are all in lockdown. I was too bored and decided to get into boybands apparently. I got into BTS during September after “Dynamite's” release. The video was on my YouTube feed, and I said why not? Let's watch this. I am not gonna lie, I LOVED “Dynamite.” It was such a peppy song and made me happy. I had also heard “MIC Drop” and “Fake Love'' before... so these were the only songs I knew.


But then I started watching their interviews, and other music videos, and I was impressed! The talent? Wow.


There was one defining moment for me when I decided I am ARMY or will at least try to be - The Carpool Karaoke Video... It was so funny. That was also the video that decided for me that Kim Namjoon is the only man who can catch my eye at first glance! And it's been a ride since then. I have sat and watched most content of theirs because honestly they have so much paid content and not all of that is uploaded for free :(


I keep rewatching Dallyeora Bangtan, In the Soop, Bon Voyage, Concerts because it makes me happy!


I also LOVE the HYYH BU story. I live for that angst.


Now it's been a year since I am ARMY, and I am very happy!


Borahae!”

Credits: Hybe

Ending ment


As long as we go on, Borasaek Vision will try to bring out as many ARMY stories as possible. We are all in for the long haul, and it can be nice to remind ourselves of where we started from, and where we are right now.


Maybe you started with not being able to tell the members apart, but here you are, distinguishing them just from their shadows. It brings us absolute joy and pleasure reading your stories, it fills us with confidence and assures us that life can turn around at any moment. It’s your stories that bring in the change.


If our readers would like to share their stories for next month’s blog, feel free to fill in our ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are form. We are eagerly waiting to know about your journey.

 

DISCLAIMER: We do not own any audio & visual content in this video except for the editing. ALL RIGHTS BELONG TO THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS. No copyright infringement intended.


Written By: Ananya

Edit By: Aury


237 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page