top of page
  • Writer's pictureBorasaek Vision

ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are



From song titles to speeches, lyrics to ending ments, BTS have reminded us many times over that our voices matter, that we matter. That we have an obligation to “speak our truth.” This series, “ARMYs Tell Us Who You Are” is a dedicated space for ARMY voices to be heard and stories to be shared. This month we introduce several ARMYs from around the world who have chosen to share a special moment in their own journeys of becoming ARMY. Our first ARMY story comes from Qatar, and although we may be reading Manha’s story for the first time, surprisingly, it might seem familiar to many ARMYs.

I found BTS through my friends but kinda knew they existed since 2016. Probably my silliest mistake was letting go of “Blood, Sweat & Tears” when it first came out because "I didn't understand the language.” Funnily enough, it's one of my favorite songs now. Three years later, like a lot of ARMYs, I joined this fandom with a simple urge to "know their names'' and here I am. I ended up binge-watching all the MVs and trying to figure out how to tell their voices apart. Fell in love with HYYH, the entire storyline, and their other albums. I used to mix up a few members, like Jin with Tae or Yoongi with Jung Kook. Takes time, but now I can tell them all apart by their shadows. I've learnt so much from BTS and this fandom, a lot more than I would've without them. In a way, they've made me more human and I'm so grateful for that.


They say you find BTS when you really need them and I feel that to the core.

 

This ARMY from Vietnam has a unique story to share with us, once again reminding us just how diverse the fandom really is: I'm an exhibiting artist that was so inspired by the incredible art direction in BTS' MVs in 2017 that I started teaching myself how to program and build experimental virtual reality landscapes. From there I went down the developer rabbit hole and stumbled into cybersecurity and ethical hacking. Now I'm a malware analyst! Weirdly it's all thanks to BTS.

 

From Italy, we have Simona, whose natural curiosity became the catalyst that introduced her to BTS and newfound friends.

I actually found out about BTS by chance; It was 2017 and I was on Twitter for a very long time but for other reasons like commenting on TV series, following my favorite bands and keeping in touch with some of my foreigns friends. One day on my timeline I saw the name of a boy who apparently was in Italy for vacation. I had no idea who he was, so I let it go. After a short time, the same story happened again but this time with a hashtag (I don't remember the occasion lol).


I was curious so I decided to type "BTS" on YouTube and find out why this boy band was so popular and perpetually on my twitter timeline. The first music video that appeared was “DNA,” recently released, and I swear it was love at first sight (and listen!). They were so fresh, so colorful and smiley - instantly putting me in a good mood, so I wrote on twitter "Wow they're cool" and a girl (now one of my dearest friends) commented on that tweet telling me so many things about them. I was so fascinated!


At first it was so weird for me because I only used to listen to rock. K-pop was a completely different music genre for me to be in contact with, but BTS happens in your life when you need them most and I really needed them that time. They taught me so much, made my life happier and full of beautiful things that I probably didn't know before.

 

An ARMY from the USA brings us a poignant reminder that even in our most vulnerable moments we can find solace in the most unexpected ways.

I had experienced loss of all different varieties; the death of a family member, eviction from my home, laid off from my job and cast away from my only friends. I had absolutely nothing left- be it money, hope, or a reason to live. I found BTS in my absolute most vulnerable state, and they saved me with words and melodies made of comfort, love, and support. I've found new life and a family that loves me within ARMY, and I owe BTS everything for it. These days I've learned to stand on my own, but I will never again be Alone while I know BTS.



ENDING MENT: For some, being part of the ARMY fandom is like riding a rollercoaster of emotions and experiences, with all of its highs and lows, twists and turns, and at the center of everything sits BTS. For others, it is a gentle reminder that we are not alone, a place to rest our weary minds and bodies before venturing out again. What unites us is the fact that at some point in our lives, we became ARMY. Do you remember where you were the first time you heard a BTS song? What about the moment you realized you had fallen down the inevitable “rabbit-hole” that is BTS? Whether it was last week, last month, or last year, it has brought you to this moment and we’re happy to see you.

 

DISCLAIMER: We do not own any audio & visual content in this video except for the editing. ALL RIGHTS BELONG TO THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS. No copyright infringement intended.


Written By: Shelley

Edit By: Anna

Checked By: Aury

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page