top of page
  • Writer's pictureBorasaek Vision

ARMYs, Tell Us Who You Are

Updated: Apr 29, 2021


(Lyrics in English: doolset lyrics)

Recently, UNICEF and BTS announced the renewal of their global partnership in support of the successful Love Myself campaign that first began in 2017, reaffirming their commitment to “creating a kinder, safer, and more connected world.” Values such as these have become one of the pivotal cornerstones of BTS, both personally and professionally. A cornerstone that ARMYs have grown to know and love, regardless of the age, ethnicity, gender, geographical location, or era in which they joined BTS’ fandom.

“ARMYs, Tell Us Who You Are” is a series dedicated to the personal journeys of ARMYs. Within this series, we open our Borasaek Vision doors to ARMYs in the hopes that they will be willing to share a special moment from their lives – the moment they became a fan, a follower, a supporter of BTS. This month, we share the stories of four amazing ARMYs. Out of respect for each of their stories though, this blog is a little longer than usual. We hope that you will take a well-earned rest from your busy lives to read and reflect.

Blacksoang from Indonesia is our first contributor to share her ARMY story. Back in 2015, I knew there was a K-pop boy band called BTS because I had watched “Weekly Idol” (a South Korean TV show), but at that time I didn't pay too much attention to them. Life goes on, and near the end of 2017, fate brought me to them again. It was a stressful year for me. I needed to write my final thesis in order to graduate, and most of my friends were already ahead of me, so I felt like I was getting left behind. I was looking for an escape. Randomly, I watched some videos on YouTube and found BTS’ “Go Go” comeback stage. I enjoyed their performance and watched more videos about them, which made me love them more and more. I loved their music, their passion, their friendship, and their attitude. It gave me happiness. There was a time when I regretted not supporting them from the start, but now I know that the right thing will come at the right time.

(BTS Lyrics in English: doolset lyrics)

This next story comes from the Philippines, courtesy of ARMY member Giannah Erin. ARMYs have different and unique reasons for why they call themselves ARMYs. Back then, almost four years ago, I was slightly anti, until we were obligated to dance for our school project. The word "K-pop" popped out of nowhere, but I had no interest in their moves, dances, and concepts. Not until my ears were caught up in the rhythm would my fingers start dancing and tapping excitedly on their own, unable to just stay still.

That's when I started to look for BTS’ songs. Their existence was like a missing puzzle that I had thirsted for throughout the 14 years of my life. Those days were the beginning of my teenage life, filled with uncountable storms followed by brief moments of calm; however, the more I sought out their music, the more I felt moved by their universal words and laughter, their genuine bond, and their sincere hearts.

(BTS Lyrics in English: doolset lyrics)

Our third ARMY story is written by Ankita Chatterjee from India.

Looking back to 12th June 2020, that’s when I finally found them. Back then, though, I never realized I was sad; I didn't know that I needed love. I never thought that one day someone so far from me would just come into my life and comfort me or that they could send me their positive energy and fill my soul with confidence and self-love. I remember gazing through the window with a mug of coffee and thinking to myself – will I be able to go back to my friends? Will I ever graduate? Will I have a graduation party? Will I ever be happy? When are the sad days going to end?


Suddenly a message popped up from my friend saying "Omg see this, we’re having a virtual graduation party!” I just replied with a sad emoticon and said “Don't make me feel more miserable about not being able to attend a graduation ceremony ever in my life.” In a few seconds, she said "You just better not miss it, this is made for us. Believe me".


So yes!!! I clicked the link and I saw seven men walking towards me with merry smiles. The first line was "Hello we are BTS” in total sync, then RM started his introduction with, Dear class of 2020, its been a strange year so far but, you made it.” I just teared up. There was something in their words that was like an ointment to my aching heart. Their loving eyes, their soft lines, they sounded like a lullaby to my inner child. That day I met the seven angels of my life. After listening to their kind words and real-life struggles I felt I wasn't alone anymore.


Then they turned and smiled. That very second I knew I had jumped into the purple ocean of BTS. I just knew that knowing them would be the best thing ever in my life. And rightly so. From that very moment, every day seems more meaningful, happy, and colorful. The bond with them grows stronger and stronger. It feels like the happiest dream from which I never want to wake up. BTS Borahaeyo. Saranghaeyo.

(BTS Lyrics in English: doolset lyrics, Image Credit: Luck Galindo)

This brings us to our final ARMY story by Tulica Bhattacharya, from India – one that may be triggering for some because of its content, so please be aware before proceeding. The first BTS song I added to my list was “Mic Drop,” way back in 2017 – thanks to my then-boyfriend. But I never really paid much heed to the lyrics. It was a cool beat to jam to, that's all. Two years later, I met my hostel roommate who was an ARMY and a dedicated one. She put up her album posters on her side of the room, and we had the seven watching us lovingly almost always.


Things took a dark turn in September 2019. I had been out for an inter-college event where I was sexually assaulted by a supposedly close friend. I did not know how to cope. Since we had several mutual friends, and I was the "rebellious" one, most people disregarded my side of the narration. Victim-blaming became far more prevalent than I could imagine, and at some point, it became more than I could handle. I started to question myself on a daily basis – was I delusional? Am I the one who doesn't understand consent or coercion? I started to isolate myself more.


I wouldn't leave my room for days, wouldn’t sleep, wouldn't answer my phone; I stayed quiet for as long as I could. My mental health was down the drain, and my physical health started deteriorating as well. I started skipping meals, having nightmares, panic attacks, and irrational fear of the dark. I wasn't helpless, but I felt like it.


One day, while lurking around, I looked over my shoulder at the BTS posters in my room. I searched “Mic Drop” on YouTube and watched the dance practice for the first time. When my roommate returned, I asked her for more information. She made me listen to “Love Yourself: Answer.” As the lyrics showed up on the screen, I found myself crying for the first time since the incident. For the first time, a voice told me that it believes me. It wasn't BTS though – it was my own inner admirer telling me that I had reasons to love myself.


The journey thereafter wasn't magically perfect. To quote RM from “2!3!,” – "We'll have only good things, that we won't hurt anymore, I can't say those words. I can't say those lies." But I did just as the song told me to. At the count of 3, I closed my eyes and focused on the now. I pushed my problems away. I started to journal regularly. I wrote my problems and told myself what was wrong. I reached out to the friends who supported me and asked them not to give up on me. I started to stay out late in the dark, five minutes past sunset every day. I reached out to official authorities. Even though I didn't receive the response I expected, I knew I could finally speak myself. My roommate started to send me more BTS memes. “Run! BTS” made me laugh louder. Instantly I fell in love with the sunshine I had been missing. As my bias often says, he was my hope, J-Hope.


In 2020, I lost my job due to the pandemic. But this time, I cried about it and got it out of my system. While my life was getting rough, I decided to get therapy in September 2020. By then, Bangtan was always by my side. I worked very hard (struggled as well), but secured a job in December 2020. I used my first salary to buy my first BTS album – BE. While “Fly To My Room” is a song about quarantine, it took me back to the days when my room was my safe space. It reminded me how far I had come.


I'm still working on myself. I'm still recovering. But I know I'm not alone. As long as I love myself unconditionally, I will get up, dust myself off, and get back on track. I owe my life to BTS. They always reminded me, “Life goes on. Let's live on.”

(BTS Lyrics in English: doolset lyrics)

ARMYs, Tell Us Who You Are

These stories reflect the beauty and diversity of fans within the #BTSARMY fandom. While their journeys to finding BTS are varied, their destination was the same, each arriving at BTS’ doorstep at a pivotal time in their lives. We thank each one of them for sharing their inspiring words and their experiences with us. If you would like to share your ARMY story with us, please feel free to contact us through any of our main platforms. We look forward to hearing from you.

 

DISCLAIMER: We do not own any audio & visual content in this video except for the editing. ALL RIGHTS BELONG TO THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS. No copyright infringement intended.


Written By: Shelley

Edit By: Vera

Checked By: Esma

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page